datatracker.ietf.org
Sign in
Version 5.13.0, 2015-03-25
Report a bug

VPWS support in EVPN
draft-boutros-l2vpn-evpn-vpws-06

Document type: Replaced Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Document stream: IETF
Last updated: 2015-01-07 (latest revision 2014-10-27)
Intended RFC status: Proposed Standard
Other versions: (expired, archived): plain text, pdf, html

IETF State: Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd: No shepherd assigned

IESG State: Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-vpws
Responsible AD: (None)
Send notices to: bess-chairs@ietf.org, bess@ietf.org

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found here:
http://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-boutros-l2vpn-evpn-vpws-06.txt

Abstract

This document describes how EVPN can be used to support virtual private wire service (VPWS) in MPLS/IP networks. EVPN enables the following characteristics for VPWS: single-active as well as all- active multi-homing with flow-based load-balancing, eliminates the need for single-segment and multi-segment PW signaling, and provides fast protection using data-plane prefix independent convergence upon node or link failure.

Authors

Sami Boutros <sboutros@cisco.com>
Ali Sajassi <sajassi@cisco.com>
Samer Salam <ssalam@cisco.com>
John Drake <jdrake@juniper.net>
Jeff Tantsura <jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com>
Dirk Steinberg <dws@steinbergnet.net>
Thomas Beckhaus <thomas.beckhaus@telekom.de>
Jorge Rabadan <jorge.rabadan@alcatel-lucent.com>

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid)