VPWS support in EVPN

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Last updated 2015-01-07 (latest revision 2014-10-27)
Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-vpws
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Proposed Standard
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-vpws
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to bess-chairs@ietf.org

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


This document describes how EVPN can be used to support virtual private wire service (VPWS) in MPLS/IP networks. EVPN enables the following characteristics for VPWS: single-active as well as all- active multi-homing with flow-based load-balancing, eliminates the need for single-segment and multi-segment PW signaling, and provides fast protection using data-plane prefix independent convergence upon node or link failure.


Sami Boutros (sboutros@cisco.com)
Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
Samer Salam (ssalam@cisco.com)
John Drake (jdrake@juniper.net)
Jeff Tantsura (jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com)
Dirk Steinberg (dws@steinbergnet.net)
Thomas Beckhaus (thomas.beckhaus@telekom.de)
Jorge Rabadan (jorge.rabadan@alcatel-lucent.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)