Geneve: Generic Network Virtualization Encapsulation
draft-gross-geneve-02

 
Document
Type Expired Internet-Draft (candidate for nvo3 WG)
Last updated 2015-04-28 (latest revision 2014-10-25)
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream
WG state Call For Adoption By WG Issued
Other - see Comment Log
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG
IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to draft-gross-geneve@ietf.org, draft-gross-geneve.ad@ietf.org, draft-gross-geneve.shepherd@ietf.org, nvo3-chairs@ietf.org

Email authors IPR 2 References Referenced by Nits Search lists

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-gross-geneve-02.txt

Abstract

Network virtualization involves the cooperation of devices with a wide variety of capabilities such as software and hardware tunnel endpoints, transit fabrics, and centralized control clusters. As a result of their role in tying together different elements in the system, the requirements on tunnels are influenced by all of these components. Flexibility is therefore the most important aspect of a tunnel protocol if it is to keep pace with the evolution of the system. This draft describes Geneve, a protocol designed to recognize and accommodate these changing capabilities and needs.

Authors

Jesse Gross (jgross@vmware.com)
T. Sridhar (tsridhar@vmware.com)
Pankaj Garg (pankajg@microsoft.com)
Chris Wright (chrisw@redhat.com)
Ilango Ganga (ilango.s.ganga@intel.com)
Puneet Agarwal (pagarwal@broadcom.com)
Kenneth Duda (kduda@arista.com)
Dinesh Dutt (ddutt@cumulusnetworks.com)
Jon Hudson (jon.hudson@gmail.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)