datatracker.ietf.org
Sign in
Version 5.6.3, 2014-09-19
Report a bug

IPv6 Multicast Address With Embedded IPv4 Multicast Address
draft-ietf-mboned-64-multicast-address-format-05

Document type: Expired Internet-Draft (mboned WG)
Document stream: IETF
Last updated: 2013-10-20 (latest revision 2013-04-18)
Intended RFC status: Proposed Standard
Other versions: (expired, archived): plain text, pdf, html

IETF State: WG Document
Document shepherd: No shepherd assigned

IESG State: Expired (IESG: Dead)
Responsible AD: Ron Bonica
IESG Note: Lenny Giuliano (lenny@juniper.net) is the Document Shepherd
Send notices to: mboned-chairs@tools.ietf.org, draft-ietf-mboned-64-multicast-address-format@tools.ietf.org

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found here:
http://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-mboned-64-multicast-address-format-05.txt

Abstract

This document reserves one bit (M-bit) of the unicast prefix-based multicast IPv6 address for ASM and an IPv6 multicast prefix for SSM mode to be used in the context of IPv4-IPv6 interconnection. The document specifies an algorithmic translation of an IPv6 multicast address to a corresponding IPv4 multicast address, and vice versa. This algorithmic translation can be used in both IPv4-IPv6 translation or encapsulation schemes.

Authors

Mohamed Boucadair <mohamed.boucadair@orange.com>
Jacni Qin <jacni@jacni.com>
Yiu Lee <yiu_lee@cable.comcast.com>
Stig Venaas <stig@cisco.com>
Xing Li <xing@cernet.edu.cn>
Mingwei Xu <xmw@cernet.edu.cn>

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid)