datatracker.ietf.org
Sign in
Version 5.6.2.p2, 2014-07-24
Report a bug

Problem Statement: Overlays for Network Virtualization
draft-narten-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement-04

Document type: Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Document stream: IETF
Last updated: 2012-09-11 (latest revision 2012-08-10)
Intended RFC status: Unknown
Other versions: (expired, archived): plain text, pdf, html

IETF State: Call For Adoption By WG Issued
Document shepherd: No shepherd assigned

IESG State: Replaced by draft-ietf-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement
Responsible AD: (None)
Send notices to: No addresses provided

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found here:
http://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-narten-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement-04.txt

Abstract

This document describes issues associated with providing multi- tenancy in large data center networks that require an overlay-based network virtualization approach to addressing them. A key multi- tenancy requirement is traffic isolation, so that a tenant's traffic is not visible to any other tenant. This isolation can be achieved by assigning one or more virtual networks to each tenant such that traffic within a virtual network is isolated from traffic in other virtual networks. The primary functionality required is provisioning virtual networks, associating a virtual machine's virtual network interface(s) with the appropriate virtual network, and maintaining that association as the virtual machine is activated, migrated and/or deactivated. Use of an overlay-based approach enables scalable deployment on large network infrastructures.

Authors

Thomas Narten <narten@us.ibm.com>
Dinesh Dutt <ddutt.ietf@hobbesdutt.com>
Luyuan Fang <lufang@cisco.com>
Eric Gray <Eric.Gray@Ericsson.com>
Lawrence Kreeger <kreeger@cisco.com>
Maria Napierala <mnapierala@att.com>
Murari Sridharan <muraris@microsoft.com>

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid)