Resource ReserVation Protocol-Traffic Engineering (RSVP-TE) Extension for Signaling Objective Function and Metric Bound

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Zafar Ali  , George Swallow  , Clarence Filsfils  , Luyuan Fang  , Kenji Kumaki  , Ruediger Kunze  , Daniele Ceccarelli  , Xian Zhang 
Last updated 2014-08-18 (latest revision 2014-02-14)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
plain text htmlized pdfized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


In particular networks such as those used by financial institutions, network performance criteria such as latency are becoming critical to data path selection. However cost is still an important consideration. This leads to a situation where path calculation involves multiple metrics and more complex objective functions. When using GMPLS control plane, there are many scenarios in which a node may need to request a remote node to perform path computation or expansion, like for example multi-domain LSP setup, Generalized Multi-Protocol Label Switching (GMPLS) User-Network Interface (UNI) or simply the utilization of a loose ERO in intra domain signaling. In such cases, the node requesting the setup of an LSP needs to convey the required objective function to the remote node, to enable it to perform route computation in the desired fashion. Similarly, there are cases where the ingress node needs to indicate a TE metric bound for a loose segment that is expanded by a remote node. This document defines extensions to the RSVP-TE Protocol to allow an ingress node to request the required objective function for the route computation, as well as a metric bound to influence route computation decisions at a remote node(s). ID draft-ali-ccamp-rc-objective-function-metric-bound-05.txt


Zafar Ali (
George Swallow (
Clarence Filsfils (
Luyuan Fang (
Kenji Kumaki (
Ruediger Kunze (
Daniele Ceccarelli (
Xian Zhang (

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)