Proactive Connection Verification, Continuity Check and Remote Defect indication for MPLS Transport Profile
draft-asm-mpls-tp-bfd-cc-cv-04

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2010-06-03 (latest revision 2010-05-11)
Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-tp-bfd-cc-cv
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-tp-bfd-cc-cv
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-asm-mpls-tp-bfd-cc-cv-04.txt

Abstract

Continuity Check (CC), Proactive Connectivity Verification (CV) and Remote Defect Indication (RDI) functionalities required for are MPLS- TP OAM. Continuity Check monitors the integrity of the continuity of the path for any loss of continuity defect. Connectivity verification monitors the integrity of the routing of the path between sink and source for any connectivity issues. RDI enables an End Point to report, to its associated End Point, a fault or defect condition that it detects on a PW, LSP or Section. This document specifies methods for proactive CV, CC, and RDI for MPLS-TP Label Switched Path (LSP), PWs and Sections using Bidirectional Forwarding Detection (BFD). Requirements Language The key words "MUST", "MUST NOT", "REQUIRED", "SHALL", "SHALL NOT", "SHOULD", "SHOULD NOT", "RECOMMENDED", "MAY", and "OPTIONAL" in this document are to be interpreted as described in RFC2119 [1].

Authors

David Allan (david.i.allan@ericsson.com)
John Drake (jdrake@juniper.net)
George Swallow (swallow@cisco.com)
Sami Boutros (sboutros@cisco.com)
Siva Sivabalan (msiva@cisco.com)
David Ward (dward@cisco.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)