ARIN Draft Policy 2011-5: Shared Transition Space

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Stan Barber  , Owen DeLong  , Chris Grundemann  , Victor Kuarsingh  , Benson Schliesser 
Last updated 2012-03-26 (latest revision 2011-09-20)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
plain text html xml pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


This memo discusses the applicability of a Shared Transition Space, an IPv4 prefix designated for local use within service provider networks during the period of IPv6 transition. This address space has been proposed at various times in the IETF, and more recently come to consensus within the ARIN policy development community where it was recommended for adoption as Draft Policy 2011-5.


Stan Barber (
Owen DeLong (
Chris Grundemann (
Victor Kuarsingh (
Benson Schliesser (

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)