Cloud Networking: Framework and VPN Applicability
draft-bitar-datacenter-vpn-applicability-02

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2012-11-19 (latest revision 2012-05-18)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bitar-datacenter-vpn-applicability-02.txt

Abstract

Cloud Computing has been attracting a lot of attention from the networking industry. Some of the most publicized requirements are related to the evolution of the Cloud Networking Infrastructure to accommodate a large number of tenants, efficient network utilization, scalable loop avoidance, and Virtual Machine Mobility. This draft describes a framework for cloud networking, highlighting the applicability of existing work in various IETF Working Groups (e.g., RFCs and drafts developed in IETF L2VPN and L3VPN Working Groups) to cloud networking, and the gaps and problems that need to be further addressed. That is, the goal is to understand what may be re-used from the current protocols and call out requirements specific to the Cloud space that need to be addressed by new standardization work with proposed solutions in certain cases.

Authors

Nabil Bitar (nabil.bitar@verizon.com)
Florin Balus (florin.balus@alcatel-lucent.com)
Marc Lasserre (marc.lasserre@alcatel-lucent.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
Luyuan Fang (lufang@cisco.com)
Yuichi Ikejiri (y.ikejiri@ntt.com)
Mircea Pisica (mircea.pisica@bt.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)