Interface to the Routing System (I2RS) for Service Chaining: Use Cases and Requirements
draft-bitar-i2rs-service-chaining-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2014-08-18 (latest revision 2014-02-14)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bitar-i2rs-service-chaining-01.txt

Abstract

Service chaining is the concept of applying an ordered set of services to a packet or a flow. Services in the chain may include network services such as load-balancing, firewalling, intrusion prevention, and routing among others. Criteria for applying a service chain to a packet or flow can be based on packet/flow attributes that span the OSI layers (e.g., physical port, Ethernet MAC header information, IP header information, transport, and application layer information). This document describes use cases and I2RS (Information to the Rousting System) requirements for the discovery and maintenance of services topology and resources. It also describes use cases and I2RS requirements for controlling the forwarding of a packet/flow along a service chain based on packet/flow attributes.

Authors

Nabil Bitar (nabil.n.bitar@verizon.com)
Giles Heron (giheron@cisco.com)
Luyuan Fang (luyuanf@gmail.com)
Ram Krishnan (ramk@brocade.com)
Nicolai Leymann (n.leymann@telekom.de)
Himanshu Shah (hshah@ciena.com)
Wassim Haddad (Wassim.Haddad@ericsson.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)