Optimized Mobile User Plane Solutions for 5G
draft-bogineni-dmm-optimized-mobile-user-plane-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2018-12-31 (latest revision 2018-06-29)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bogineni-dmm-optimized-mobile-user-plane-01.txt

Abstract

3GPP CT4 has approved a study item to study different mobility management protocols for potential replacement of GTP tunnels between UPFs (N9 Interface) in the 3GPP 5G system architecture. This document provides an overview of 5G system architecture in the context of N9 Interface which is the scope of the 3GPP CT4 study item [CP-173160-1], [TS.23.501-3GPP], [TS.23.502-3GPP], [TS.23.503-3GPP], [TS.29.244-3GPP], [TS.29.281-3GPP], [TS.38.300-3GPP], and [TS.38.401-3GPP]. Architecture requirements for evaluation of candidate protocols are provided. Optimization of the user plane can be in different ways - packet overhead, transport integration, etc. Several IETF protocols are considered for comparison: SRv6, LISP, ILA and several combinations of control plane and user plane protocols.

Authors

Kalyani Bogineni (kalyani.bogineni@verizon.com)
Arashmid Akhavain (arashmid.akhavain@huawei.com)
Tom Herbert (tom@quantonium.net)
Dino Farinacci (farinacci@gmail.com)
Alberto Rodriguez-Natal (natal@cisco.com)
Giovanna Carofiglio (gcarofig@cisco.com)
Jordan Auge (jordan.auge@cisco.com)
Luca Muscariello (lumuscar@cisco.com)
Pablo Garvia (pcamaril@cisco.com)
Shunsuke Homma (homma.shunsuke@lab.ntt.co.jp)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)