3GPP Access Traffic Steering Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) - Overview for IETF Participants
draft-bonaventure-quic-atsss-overview-00

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Mohamed Boucadair  , Olivier Bonaventure  , Maxime Piraux  , Quentin De Coninck  , Spencer Dawkins  , Mirja K├╝hlewind  , Markus Amend  , Andreas Kassler  , Qing An  , Nicolas Keukeleire  , SungHoon Seo 
Last updated 2020-12-01 (latest revision 2020-05-30)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bonaventure-quic-atsss-overview-00.txt

Abstract

This document briefly presents the Access Traffic Steering, Switching, and Splitting (ATSSS) service being specified within the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP). The ATSSS service provides network support for multihomed devices to select a path for transmission (steer), move traffic from one path to another (switch), or use multiple paths simultaneously (split). TS 23.501 specifies an ATSSS architecture for TCP traffic. This document presents a snap-shot of the ongoing discussion in the 3GPP to enable ATSSS for non-TCP traffic, based on the use of QUIC, and assesses to what extent IETF specifications can be used to meet the ATSSS design goals. Apparent gaps are also documented.

Authors

Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange.com)
Olivier Bonaventure (Olivier.Bonaventure@uclouvain.be)
Maxime Piraux (maxime.piraux@uclouvain.be)
Quentin De Coninck (quentin.deconinck@uclouvain.be)
Spencer Dawkins (spencerdawkins.ietf@gmail.com)
Mirja K├╝hlewind (mirja.kuehlewind@ericsson.com)
Markus Amend (markus.amend@telekom.de)
Andreas Kassler (andreas.kassler@kau.se)
Qing An (anqing.aq@alibaba-inc.com)
Nicolas Keukeleire (nicolas.keukeleire@tessares.net)
SungHoon Seo (sh.seo@kt.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)