LSP Self-Ping
draft-bonica-mpls-self-ping-06

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (mpls WG)
Last updated 2015-10-14 (latest revision 2015-05-18)
Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-self-ping
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd Loa Andersson
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-self-ping
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bonica-mpls-self-ping-06.txt

Abstract

When certain RSVP-TE optimizations are implemented, ingress LSRs can receive RSVP RESV messages before forwarding state has been installed on all downstream nodes. According to the RSVP-TE specification, the ingress LSR can forward traffic through an LSP as soon as it receives a RESV message. However, if the ingress LSR forwards traffic through the LSP before forwarding state has been installed on all downstream nodes, traffic can be lost. This memo describes LSP Self-ping. When an ingress LSR receives an RESV message, it can invoke LSP Self-ping procedures to ensure that forwarding state has been installed on all downstream nodes. LSP Self-ping is an extremely light-weight mechanism. It does not consume control plane resources on transit or egress LSRs.

Authors

Raveendra Torvi (rtorvi@juniper.net)
Ron Bonica (rbonica@juniper.net)
Ina Minei (inaminei@google.com)
Michael Conn (michael.e.conn@verizon.com)
Dante Pacella (dante.j.pacella@verizon.com)
Luis Tomotaki (luis.tomotaki@verizon.com)
Mark Wygant (mark.wygant@verizon.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)