Flexible IPv6 Migration Scenarios in the Context of IPv4 Address Shortage
draft-boucadair-behave-ipv6-portrange-04

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2014-12-02 (latest revision 2009-10-20)
Replaced by draft-ymbk-aplusp
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ymbk-aplusp
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-boucadair-behave-ipv6-portrange-04.txt

Abstract

This memo presents a solution to solve IPv4 address shortage and ease IPv4-IPv6 interconnection. The document presents a set of incremental steps for the deployment of IPv6 as a means to solve IPv4 address exhaustion. Stateless IPv4/IPv6 address mapping functions are introduced and IPv4-IPv6 interconnection scenarios presented. This memo advocates for a more proactive approach for the deployment of IPv6 into operational networks. This memo specifies the IPv6 variant of the A+P. Both encapsulation and translation scheme are covered. Moreover, two modes are elaborated: the binding mode (compatible mode with DS-lite) and the stateless mode.

Authors

Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange-ftgroup.com)
Pierre Levis (pierre.levis@orange-ftgroup.com)
Jean-Luc Grimault (jeanluc.grimault@orange-ftgroup.com)
Alain Villefranque (alain.villefranque@orange-ftgroup.com)
Mohamed Kassi-Lahlou (mohamed.kassilahlou@orange-ftgroup.com)
Gabor Bajko (Gabor.Bajko@nokia.com)
Yiu Lee (yiu_lee@cable.comcast.com)
Telemaco Melia (telemaco.melia@alcatel-lucent.com)
Olivier Vautrin (ovautrin@juniper.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)