Application-aware Targeted LDP
draft-esale-mpls-app-aware-tldp-03

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (mpls WG)
Last updated 2015-10-14 (latest revision 2015-01-26)
Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-app-aware-tldp
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd Loa Andersson
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-app-aware-tldp
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-esale-mpls-app-aware-tldp-03.txt

Abstract

Recent targeted LDP applications such as remote loop-free alternates (LFA) and BGP auto discovered pseudowire may automatically establish a tLDP session to any LSR in a network. The initiating LSR has information about the targeted applications to administratively control initiation of the session. However the responding LSR has no such information to control acceptance of this session. This document defines a mechanism to advertise and negotiate Targeted Applications Capability during LDP session initialization. As the responding LSR becomes aware of targeted applications, it may establish a limited number of tLDP sessions for certain applications. In addition, each targeted application is mapped to LDP Forwarding Equivalence Class (FEC) Elements to advertise only necessary LDP FEC-label bindings over the session.

Authors

Santosh Esale (sesale@juniper.net)
Raveendra Torvi (rtorvi@juniper.net)
Chris Bowers (cbowers@juniper.net)
Luay Jalil (luay.jalil@verizon.com)
Uma Chunduri (uma.chunduri@ericsson.com)
Zhenbin Li (lizhenbin@huawei.com)
Kamran Raza (skraza@cisco.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)