BGP/MPLS VPN Virtual PE
draft-fang-l3vpn-virtual-pe-05

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (l3vpn WG)
Authors Luyuan Fang  , David Ward  , Rex Fernando  , Maria Napierala  , Nabil Bitar  , Dhananjaya Rao  , Bruno Rijsman 
Last updated 2015-10-14 (latest revision 2014-07-04)
Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-virtual-pe
Stream Internent Engineering Task Force (IETF)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd Martin Vigoureux
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-virtual-pe
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-fang-l3vpn-virtual-pe-05.txt

Abstract

This document describes the architecture solutions for BGP/MPLS L3 and L2 Virtual Private Networks (VPNs) with virtual Provider Edge (vPE) routers. It provides a functional description of the vPE control, forwarding, and management. The proposed vPE solutions support both the Software Defined Networks (SDN) approach which allows physical decoupling of the control and the forwarding, and the traditional distributed routing approach. A vPE can reside in any network or compute devices, such as a server as co-resident with the application virtual machines (VMs), or a Top-of-Rack (ToR) switch in a Data Center (DC) network.

Authors

Luyuan Fang (lufang@microsoft.com)
David Ward (wardd@cisco.com)
Rex Fernando (rex@cisco.com)
Maria Napierala (mnapierala@att.com)
Nabil Bitar (nabil.bitar@verizon.com)
Dhananjaya Rao (dhrao@cisco.com)
Bruno Rijsman (brijsman@juniper.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)