Segment Routing with MPLS data plane
draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-mpls-03

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (spring WG)
Last updated 2014-10-10 (latest revision 2014-08-01)
Replaced by draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-mpls
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-mpls
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-mpls-03.txt

Abstract

Segment Routing (SR) leverages the source routing paradigm. A node steers a packet through a controlled set of instructions, called segments, by prepending the packet with an SR header. A segment can represent any instruction, topological or service-based. SR allows to enforce a flow through any topological path and service chain while maintaining per-flow state only at the ingress node to the SR domain. Segment Routing can be directly applied to the MPLS architecture with no change in the forwarding plane. This drafts describes how Segment Routing operates on top of the MPLS data plane.

Authors

Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Ahmed Bashandy (bashandy@cisco.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Stephane Litkowski (stephane.litkowski@orange.com)
Martin Horneffer (Martin.Horneffer@telekom.de)
Igor Milojevic (igormilojevic@telekom.rs)
Rob Shakir (rob.shakir@bt.com)
Saku Ytti (saku@ytti.fi)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Jeff Tantsura (jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com)
Edward Crabbe (edc@google.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)