Mobile Throughput Guidance Inband Signaling Protocol
draft-flinck-mobile-throughput-guidance-04

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-09-14 (latest revision 2017-03-13)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-flinck-mobile-throughput-guidance-04.txt

Abstract

The bandwidth available for end user devices in cellular networks can vary by an order of magnitude over a few seconds due to changes in the underlying radio channel conditions, as device mobility and changes in system load as other devices enter and leave the network. Furthermore, packets losses are not always signs of congestion. The Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) can have difficulties adapting to these rapidly varying conditions leading to inefficient use of a cellular network's resources and degraded application performance. Problem statement, requirements and the architecture for a solution is documented in [Req_Arch_MTG_Exposure]. This document proposes a mechanism and protocol elements that allow the cellular network to provide near real-time information on capacity available to the TCP server. This "Throughput Guidance" (TG) information would indicate the throughput estimated to be available at the radio downlink interface (between the Radio Access Network (RAN) and the mobile device (UE)). TCP server can use this TG information to ensure high network utilization and high service delivery performance. The document describes the applicability of the proposed mechanism for video delivery over cellular networks; it also presents test results from live operator's environment.

Authors

Ankur Jain (jankur@google.com)
Andreas Terzis (aterzis@google.com)
Hannu Flinck (hannu.flinck@nokia-bell-labs.com)
Nurit Sprecher (nurit.sprecher@nokia.com)
Swaminathan Arunachalam (swaminathan.arunachalam@nokia.com)
Kevin Smith (kevin.smith@vodafone.com)
Vijay Devarapalli (vijay@vasonanetworks.com)
Roni Yanai (rbaryanai@vasonanetworks.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)