IPv6 Segment Routing Header (SRH)
draft-ietf-6man-segment-routing-header-01

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (6man WG)
Last updated 2016-09-19 (latest revision 2016-03-18)
Replaces draft-previdi-6man-segment-routing-header
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-6man-segment-routing-header-01.txt

Abstract

Segment Routing (SR) allows a node to steer a packet through a controlled set of instructions, called segments, by prepending an SR header to the packet. A segment can represent any instruction, topological or service-based. SR allows to enforce a flow through any path (topological, or application/service based) while maintaining per-flow state only at the ingress node to the SR domain. Segment Routing can be applied to the IPv6 data plane with the addition of a new type of Routing Extension Header. This draft describes the Segment Routing Extension Header Type and how it is used by SR capable nodes.

Authors

Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Brian Field (brian_field@cable.comcast.com)
Ida Leung (ida.leung@rci.rogers.com)
Jen Linkova (furry@google.com)
Ebben Aries (exa@fb.com)
Tomoya Kosugi (kosugi.tomoya@lab.ntt.co.jp)
√Čric Vyncke (evyncke@cisco.com)
David Lebrun (david.lebrun@uclouvain.be)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)