A Network Virtualization Overlay Solution using EVPN
draft-ietf-bess-evpn-overlay-01

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Last updated 2015-10-14 (latest revision 2015-02-25)
Replaces draft-sd-l2vpn-evpn-overlay
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Proposed Standard
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd Thomas Morin
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-bess-evpn-overlay-01.txt

Abstract

This document describes how Ethernet VPN (EVPN) [RFC7432] can be used as an Network Virtualization Overlay (NVO) solution and explores the various tunnel encapsulation options over IP and their impact on the EVPN control-plane and procedures. In particular, the following encapsulation options are analyzed: VXLAN, NVGRE, and MPLS over GRE.

Authors

Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
John Drake (jdrake@juniper.net)
Nabil Bitar (nabil.n.bitar@verizon.com)
Aldrin Isaac (aisaac71@bloomberg.net)
Jim Uttaro (uttaro@att.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)