Operational Aspects of Proxy-ARP/ND in EVPN Networks
draft-ietf-bess-evpn-proxy-arp-nd-04

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Last updated 2018-10-11 (latest revision 2018-04-09)
Replaces draft-snr-bess-evpn-proxy-arp-nd
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Informational
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state In WG Last Call
Document shepherd Matthew Bocci
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to Matthew Bocci <matthew.bocci@nokia.com>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-bess-evpn-proxy-arp-nd-04.txt

Abstract

The MAC/IP Advertisement route specified in [RFC7432] can optionally carry IPv4 and IPv6 addresses associated with a MAC address. Remote PEs can use this information to reply locally (act as proxy) to IPv4 ARP requests and IPv6 Neighbor Solicitation messages (or 'unicast- forward' them to the owner of the MAC) and reduce/suppress the flooding produced by the Address Resolution procedure. This EVPN capability is extremely useful in Internet Exchange Points (IXPs) and Data Centers (DCs) with large broadcast domains, where the amount of ARP/ND flooded traffic causes issues on routers and CEs, as explained in [RFC6820]. This document describes how the [RFC7432] EVPN proxy- ARP/ND function may be implemented to help IXPs and other operators deal with the issues derived from Address Resolution in large broadcast domains.

Authors

Jorge Rabadan (jorge.rabadan@nokia.com)
Senthil Sathappan (senthil.sathappan@nokia.com)
Kiran Nagaraj (kiran.nagaraj@nokia.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@nokia.com)
Greg Hankins (greg.hankins@nokia.com)
Thomas King (thomas.king@de-cix.net)
Daniel Melzer (daniel.melzer@de-cix.net)
Erik Nordmark (nordmark@sonic.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)