Interoperation of RSVP/Int-Serv and Diff-Serv Networks
draft-ietf-diffserv-rsvp-02

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (diffserv WG)
Last updated 1999-03-04
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-diffserv-rsvp-02.txt

Abstract

Differentiated Services (diff-serv) and RSVP/Integrated Services (RSVP/int-serv) provide complementary approaches to the problem of providing QoS for Internet end systems. These approachs must be able to coexist and effectively interoperate. This document outlines one important model for such interoperation, in which diff-serv is used by transit networks in the core of the Internet while hosts and edge networks use RSVP/int-serv. It also contains a brief discussion of some alternative models for interoperation.

Authors

Lixia Zhang (lixia@cs.ucla.edu)
Raj Yavatkar (raj.yavatkar@intel.com)
Fred Baker (fred.baker@cisco.com)
Peter Ford (peterf@microsoft.com)
Robert Braden (braden@isi.edu)
Kathleen Nichols (nichols@pollere.com)
Michael Speer (speer@eng.sun.com)
Yoram Bernet (yoramb@microsoft.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)