Extensions to VPLS PE model for Provider Backbone Bridging
draft-ietf-l2vpn-pbb-vpls-pe-model-04

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (l2vpn WG)
Authors Florin Balus  , Matthew Bocci  , Mustapha Aissaoui  , Ali Sajassi  , Nabil Bitar  , Raymond Zhang 
Last updated 2012-04-06 (latest revision 2011-10-04)
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd None
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-l2vpn-pbb-vpls-pe-model-04.txt

Abstract

IEEE 802.1ah standard [IEEE802.1ah], also known as Provider Backbone Bridges (PBB) defines an architecture and bridge protocols for interconnection of multiple Provider Bridge Networks (PBNs). PBB was defined in IEEE as a connectionless technology based on multipoint VLAN tunnels. MSTP is used as the core control plane for loop avoidance and load balancing. As a result, the coverage of the solution is limited by STP scale in the core of large service provider networks. PBB on the other hand can be used to attain better scalability in terms of number of customer MAC addresses and number of service instances that can be supported. Virtual Private LAN Service (VPLS) [RFC4664] provides a framework for extending Ethernet LAN services, using MPLS tunneling capabilities, through a routed MPLS backbone without running (M)STP across the backbone. As a result, VPLS has been deployed on a large scale in service provider networks. This draft discusses extensions to the VPLS PE model required to incorporate desirable PBB components while maintaining the Service Provider fit of the initial model.

Authors

Florin Balus (florin.balus@alcatel-lucent.com)
Matthew Bocci (matthew.bocci@alcatel-lucent.co.uk)
Mustapha Aissaoui (Mustapha.aissaoui@Alcatel-lucent.com)
Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
Nabil Bitar (nabil.bitar@verizon.com)
Raymond Zhang (raymond.zhang@bt.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)