IPv6 Multicast Address With Embedded IPv4 Multicast Address
draft-ietf-mboned-64-multicast-address-format-06

 
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (mboned WG)
Last updated 2015-03-28 (latest revision 2014-09-24)
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Proposed Standard
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired (IESG: Dead)
Telechat date
Responsible AD Ron Bonica
IESG note Lenny Giuliano (lenny@juniper.net) is the Document Shepherd
Send notices to mboned-chairs@ietf.org, draft-ietf-mboned-64-multicast-address-format@ietf.org

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-mboned-64-multicast-address-format-06.txt

Abstract

This document reserves one bit (M-bit) of the unicast prefix-based multicast IPv6 address for ASM and an IPv6 multicast prefix for SSM mode to be used in the context of IPv4-IPv6 interconnection. The document specifies an algorithmic translation of an IPv6 multicast address to a corresponding IPv4 multicast address, and vice versa. This algorithmic translation can be used in both IPv4-IPv6 translation or encapsulation schemes. This document updates RFC 7371.

Authors

Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange.com)
Jacni Qin (jacni@jacni.com)
Yiu Lee (yiu_lee@cable.comcast.com)
Stig Venaas (stig@cisco.com)
Xing Li (xing@cernet.edu.cn)
Mingwei Xu (xmw@cernet.edu.cn)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)