Skip to main content

Extended Administrative Groups in MPLS Traffic Engineering (MPLS-TE)

Approval announcement
Draft of message to be sent after approval:


From: The IESG <>
To: IETF-Announce <>
Cc: RFC Editor <>,
    mpls mailing list <>,
    mpls chair <>
Subject: Protocol Action: 'Extended Administrative Groups in MPLS-TE' to Proposed Standard (draft-ietf-mpls-extended-admin-group-07.txt)

The IESG has approved the following document:
- 'Extended Administrative Groups in MPLS-TE'
  (draft-ietf-mpls-extended-admin-group-07.txt) as Proposed Standard

This document is the product of the Multiprotocol Label Switching Working

The IESG contact persons are Adrian Farrel and Alia Atlas.

A URL of this Internet Draft is:

Ballot Text

Technical Summary

   MPLS-TE advertises 32 administrative groups (commonly referred to as
   "colors" or "link colors") using the Administrative Group sub-TLV of
   the Link TLV.  This is defined for OSPFv2 (RFC3630), OSPFv3 (RFC5329)
   and ISIS (RFC5305).

   This document adds a sub-TLV to the IGP TE extensions, "Extended
   Administrative Group".  This sub-TLV provides for additional
   administrative groups (link colors) beyond the current limit of 32.

Working Group Summary

      There is a general agreement in the working group that this
      is needed. There have been comments during the discussion 
      in the working group and the working last call, but all them
      contributing to improving the document.

Document Quality

      Currently we are aware of one commercial implementation.


       Adrian Farrel is the Responsible AD.
       Loa Andersson is the document shepherd

RFC Editor Note