An Architecture for Overlay Networks (NVO3)
draft-ietf-nvo3-arch-01

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (nvo3 WG)
Last updated 2014-10-14 (latest revision 2014-02-14)
Replaces draft-narten-nvo3-arch
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Informational
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state WG Document
Revised I-D Needed - Issue raised by WG, Waiting for Referencing Document
Document shepherd Benson Schliesser
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to "Benson Schliesser" <bensons@queuefull.net>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-nvo3-arch-01.txt

Abstract

This document presents a high-level overview architecture for building overlay networks in NVO3. The architecture is given at a high-level, showing the major components of an overall system. An important goal is to divide the space into individual smaller components that can be implemented independently and with clear interfaces and interactions with other components. It should be possible to build and implement individual components in isolation and have them work with other components with no changes to other components. That way implementers have flexibility in implementing individual components and can optimize and innovate within their respective components without requiring changes to other components.

Authors

David Black (david.black@emc.com)
Jon Hudson (jon.hudson@gmail.com)
Larry Kreeger (kreeger@cisco.com)
Marc Lasserre (marc.lasserre@alcatel-lucent.com)
Thomas Narten (narten@us.ibm.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)