Problem Statement and Usage Scenarios for PANA
draft-ietf-pana-usage-scenarios-06

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (pana WG)
Last updated 2015-10-14 (latest revision 2003-04-29)
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Informational
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired (IESG: Dead)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD Thomas Narten
IESG note 2004-06-17: This document is no longer needed; its contents have been condensed and added as an appendix to draft-ietf-pana-requirements-08.txt.
Send notices to Yoshihiro.Ohba@tais.com

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-pana-usage-scenarios-06.txt

Abstract

Network access authentication is a function that is typically required in most scenarios. This is accomplished in most networks via protocols such as PPP, PPPoE, IEEE 802.1X and others. The PANA (Protocol for carrying Authentication for Network Access) WG is considering the network access authentication function being performed at or above the IP layer. This document captures the various usage scenarios/applicability of a protocol that is used for network access authentication that is at layer-3 or above and additionally identifies the problem being addressed by the WG.

Authors

Alper Yegin (alper@docomolabs-usa.com)
Basavaraj Patil (basavaraj.patil@nokia.com)
Hesham Soliman (hesham.soliman@era.ericsson.se)
Subir Das (subir@research.telcordia.com)
Yoshihiro Ohba (yohba@tari.toshiba.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)