Protocol Independent Multicast-Sparse Mode (PIM-SM): Protocol Specification
draft-ietf-pim-v2-sm-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (pim WG)
Last updated 1999-12-01
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-pim-v2-sm-01.txt

Abstract

This document describes a protocol for efficiently routing to multicast groups that may span wide-area (and inter-domain) internets. We refer to the approach as Protocol Independent Multicast--Sparse Mode (PIM-SM) because it is not dependent on any particular unicast routing protocol, and because it is designed to support sparse groups as defined in [1][2]. This document describes the protocol details. For the motivation behind the design and a description of the architecture, see [1][2]. Section 2 summarizes PIM-SM operation. It describes the protocol from a network perspective, in particular, how the participating routers interact to create and maintain the multicast distribution tree. Section 3 describes PIM-SM operations from the perspective of a single router implementing the protocol; this section constitutes the main body of the protocol specification. It is organized according to PIM-SM message type; for each message type we describe its contents, its generation, and its processing.

Authors

Deborah Estrin (destrin@isi.edu)
Van Jacobson (van@ee.lbl.gov)
Dino Farinacci (dino@cisco.com)
Liming Wei (lwei@redback.com)
Steve Deering (deering@cisco.com)
Mark Handley (mjh@isi.edu)
Dave Thaler (dthaler@microsoft.com)
Ching-Gung Liu (charley@fla.fujitsu.com)
Puneet Sharma (puneetsh@catarina.usc.edu)
Ahmed Helmy (ahelmy@usc.edu)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)