Shortest Path First (SPF) Back-Off Delay Algorithm for Link-State IGPs

Approval announcement
Draft of message to be sent after approval:

From: The IESG <>
To: IETF-Announce <>
Cc: The IESG <>,,, Uma Chunduri <>,,,,
Subject: Protocol Action: 'SPF Back-off Delay algorithm for link state IGPs' to Proposed Standard (draft-ietf-rtgwg-backoff-algo-10.txt)

The IESG has approved the following document:
- 'SPF Back-off Delay algorithm for link state IGPs'
  (draft-ietf-rtgwg-backoff-algo-10.txt) as Proposed Standard

This document is the product of the Routing Area Working Group.

The IESG contact persons are Alvaro Retana, Alia Atlas and Deborah Brungard.

A URL of this Internet Draft is:

Technical Summary

   This document describes a route computation back-off algorithm (not SPF computation algorithm itself!) to most widely used IGPs (OSPF/ISIS). Because lack of standard algorithm in this area various implementations choose to implement different back-off procedures today and this is one of the main contributors to the micro-loops seen today during network re-convergence. This document also defines the key configurable parameters for the standard algorithm defined here, so that same set of values can be provisioned in all nodes in a particular deployment. Other sources of micro loops are hinted in section 8 with some references.

Working Group Summary

 This draft has been thoroughly discussed in the WG.
The draft adoption and progress has received full support from the WG.
All major comments have been addressed.  The draft is ready for publication.

Document Quality

The draft went through routing directorate review and comments were taken care.
Proposed algorithm  has been prototyped/implemented by 3 vendors-os/implementations

–	JunOS prototype
–	Quagga (Free Range Routing)
–	RtBrick


Uma Chunduri is the Document Shepherd.
Alia Atlas is the Responsible Area Director.