datatracker.ietf.org
Sign in
Version 5.3.0, 2014-04-12
Report a bug

An Architecture for IP/LDP Fast-Reroute Using Maximally Redundant Trees
draft-ietf-rtgwg-mrt-frr-architecture-03

Document type: Expired Internet-Draft (rtgwg WG)
Document stream: IETF
Last updated: 2014-01-13 (latest revision 2013-07-12)
Intended RFC status: Unknown
Other versions: (expired, archived): plain text, pdf, html

IETF State: WG Document
Consensus: Unknown
Document shepherd: No shepherd assigned

IESG State: Expired
Responsible AD: (None)
Send notices to: No addresses provided

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. Unofficial copies of old Internet-Drafts can be found here:
http://tools.ietf.org/id/draft-ietf-rtgwg-mrt-frr-architecture

Abstract

With increasing deployment of Loop-Free Alternates (LFA) [RFC5286], it is clear that a complete solution for IP and LDP Fast-Reroute is required. This specification provides that solution. IP/LDP Fast- Reroute with Maximally Redundant Trees (MRT-FRR) is a technology that gives link-protection and node-protection with 100% coverage in any network topology that is still connected after the failure. MRT removes all need to engineer for coverage. MRT is also extremely computationally efficient. For any router in the network, the MRT computation is less than the LFA computation for a node with three or more neighbors.

Authors

Alia Atlas <akatlas@juniper.net>
Robert Kebler <rkebler@juniper.net>
Gabor Envedi <Gabor.Sandor.Enyedi@ericsson.com>
Andras Csaszar <Andras.Csaszar@ericsson.com>
Jeff Tantsura <jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com>
Maciek Konstantynowicz <maciek@bgp.nu>
Russ White <russw@riw.us>

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid)