Optimized Service Function Chaining
draft-khalili-optimized-service-function-chaining-00

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-10-28
Replaced by draft-khalili-sfc-optimized-chaining
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-khalili-sfc-optimized-chaining
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-khalili-optimized-service-function-chaining-00.txt

Abstract

This draft investigates possibilities to use so-called 'transport- derived service function forwarders' (tSFFs) that ignore the SFC encapsulation, using instead existing transport information for explicit service path information. The draft discusses two such possibilities. In the first one, the transport network is SDN-based. The second one introduces and explains a specific service request routing (SRR) function to support URL-level routing of service requests.

Authors

Ramin Khalili (ramin.khalili@huawei.com)
Zoran Despotovic (zoran.despotovic@huawei.com)
Artur Hecker (artur.hecker@huawei.com)
Debashish Purkayastha (debashish.purkayastha@interdigital.com)
Akbar Rahman (Akbar.Rahman@InterDigital.com)
Dirk Trossen (dirk.trossen@interdigital.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)