Filter-Based RIB Information Model
draft-kini-i2rs-fb-rib-info-model-03

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (candidate for i2rs WG)
Authors Sriganesh Kini  , Susan Hares  , Linda Dunbar  , Anoop Ghanwani  , Ramki Krishnan  , Dean Bogdanović  , Russ White 
Last updated 2016-04-02 (latest revision 2016-02-07)
Replaced by draft-ietf-i2rs-fb-rib-info-model
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Stream WG state Call For Adoption By WG Issued
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-i2rs-fb-rib-info-model
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-kini-i2rs-fb-rib-info-model-03.txt

Abstract

This document defines an information model associated with the I2RS ephemeral state for filter-based routing of IP packets via a Filter- based Routing Information Base (FB-RIB). FB-RIBs (ephemeral and non- ephemeral) are associated with specific interfaces interfaces on a routing device, and process packets received on these interfaces according a filtering policy. A filtering policy is a a minimalistic event-match_condition-action (ECA) policy with only one event - the reception of a frame/packet of data on an interface. The match conditions in the filter policy are n-tuple matches based on the content of the frame/packet or the time of its arrival. Filter-based policy allows actions which modifying the frame/packet, forward the frame or packet, or drop the frame/packet. Filter-Based Policy in FB-RIBs engages before any destination based routing so the FB-RIBs provide a destination-based default RIB that will be used if none of the filters are matched.

Authors

Sriganesh Kini (sriganesh.kini@ericsson.com)
Susan Hares (shares@ndzh.com)
Linda Dunbar (Linda.dunbar@huawei.com)
Anoop Ghanwani (anoop@alumni.duke.edu)
Ramki Krishnan (ramkri123@gmail.com)
Dean Bogdanović (deanb@juniper.net)
Russ White (russ@riw.us)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)