Problem Statement: Overlays for Network Virtualization
draft-narten-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement-04

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2012-09-11 (latest revision 2012-08-10)
Replaced by draft-ietf-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream WG state Call For Adoption By WG Issued
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-narten-nvo3-overlay-problem-statement-04.txt

Abstract

This document describes issues associated with providing multi- tenancy in large data center networks that require an overlay-based network virtualization approach to addressing them. A key multi- tenancy requirement is traffic isolation, so that a tenant's traffic is not visible to any other tenant. This isolation can be achieved by assigning one or more virtual networks to each tenant such that traffic within a virtual network is isolated from traffic in other virtual networks. The primary functionality required is provisioning virtual networks, associating a virtual machine's virtual network interface(s) with the appropriate virtual network, and maintaining that association as the virtual machine is activated, migrated and/or deactivated. Use of an overlay-based approach enables scalable deployment on large network infrastructures.

Authors

Thomas Narten (narten@us.ibm.com)
Dinesh Dutt (ddutt.ietf@hobbesdutt.com)
Luyuan Fang (lufang@cisco.com)
Eric Gray (Eric.Gray@Ericsson.com)
Lawrence Kreeger (kreeger@cisco.com)
Maria Napierala (mnapierala@att.com)
Murari Sridharan (muraris@microsoft.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)