datatracker.ietf.org
Sign in
Version 5.3.0, 2014-04-12
Report a bug

Constrained Application Autoconfiguration
draft-nieminen-core-service-discovery-02

Document type: Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Document stream: No stream defined
Last updated: 2012-09-13 (latest revision 2012-03-12)
Intended RFC status: Unknown
Other versions: (expired, archived): plain text, pdf, html

Stream State:No stream defined
Document shepherd: No shepherd assigned

IESG State: Expired
Responsible AD: (None)
Send notices to: No addresses provided

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. Unofficial copies of old Internet-Drafts can be found here:
http://tools.ietf.org/id/draft-nieminen-core-service-discovery

Abstract

The number and types of devices that are Internet connected continues to grow. Sensors, appliances, utility meters, medical devices etc. are Internet connected for various reasons. Many of these newer devices are constrained in terms of processing power, memory, communication capability and, available power. Devices such as sensors and similar very small devices often lack a proper user interface and hence configuring even the most basic parameters for enabling Internet connectivity on these is extremely difficult. Some of the existing configuration protocols can help in autoconfiguring various parameters of the IP stack needed for Internet connectivity. However this is not sufficient if the devices are using a web service application. There is a need for additional information such as service provider name and username/password etc. for authentication etc. A configuration protocol solution for resource constrained devices is needed in order to enable the potential enabled by Internet connectivity. This document outlines the use cases and requirements for user friendly configuration of such information on a constrained device, and specifies a Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP) based mechanism to meet the requirements.

Authors

Johanna Nieminen <johanna.1.nieminen@nokia.com>
Basavaraj Patil <basavaraj.patil@nokia.com>
Teemu Savolainen <teemu.savolainen@nokia.com>
Markus Isomaki <markus.isomaki@nokia.com>
Zach Shelby <zach.shelby@sensinode.com>
Carles Gomez <carlesgo@entel.upc.edu>
Mehmet Ersue <mehmet.ersue@nsn.com>

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid)