Network Service Chaining Problem Statement
draft-quinn-nsc-problem-statement-03

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Paul Quinn  , Jim Guichard  , Surendra Kumar  , Puneet Agarwal  , Rajeev Manur  , Abhishek Chauhan  , Nicolai Leymann  , Mohamed Boucadair  , Christian Jacquenet  , Michael Smith  , Navindra Yadav , Thomas Nadeau  , Ken Gray , Brad McConnell  , Kevin Glavin 
Last updated 2013-10-04 (latest revision 2013-08-26)
Replaced by draft-quinn-sfc-problem-statement
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-quinn-sfc-problem-statement
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-quinn-nsc-problem-statement-03.txt

Abstract

This document provides an overview of the issues associated with the deployment of services functions (such as firewalls, load balancers) in large-scale environments. The term service function chaining is used to describe the deployment of such service functions, and the ability of a network operator to specify an ordered list of service functions that should be applied to a deterministic set of traffic flows. Such service function chains require integration of service policy alongside the deployment of applications, while allowing for the optimal utilization of network resources.

Authors

Paul Quinn (paulq@cisco.com)
Jim Guichard (jguichar@cisco.com)
Surendra Kumar (smkumar@cisco.com)
Puneet Agarwal (pagarwal@broadcom.com)
Rajeev Manur (rmanur@broadcom.com)
Abhishek Chauhan (abhishek.chauhan@citrix.com)
Nicolai Leymann (n.leymann@telekom.de)
Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange.com)
Christian Jacquenet (christian.jacquenet@orange.com)
Michael Smith (michsmit@insiemenetworks.com)
Navindra Yadav (nyadav@insiemenetworks.com)
Thomas Nadeau (tnadeau@juniper.net)
Ken Gray (kgray@juniper.net)
Brad McConnell (bmcconne@rackspace.com)
Kevin Glavin (kevin.glavin@riverbed.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)