5G Transport Slice Connectivity Interface

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Reza Rokui  , Shunsuke Homma  , Diego Lopez  , Xavier de Foy  , Luis Contreras  , Jose Ordonez-Lucena  , Pedro Martinez-Julia  , Mohamed Boucadair  , Philip Eardley  , Kiran Makhijani  , Hannu Flinck 
Last updated 2020-01-03 (latest revision 2019-07-02)
Replaced by draft-rokui-5g-ietf-network-slice
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-rokui-5g-ietf-network-slice
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


The 5G Network slicing is an approach to provide separate independent E2E logical network from user equipment (UE) to applications where each network slice has different SLA requirements. Each E2E network slice consists of multitude of RAN-slice, Core-slice and Transport- slices, each with its own controller. To provide automation, assurance and optimization of the network slices, an E2E network slice controller is needed which interacts with controller in RAN, Core and Transport slices. The interfaces between the E2E network slice controller and RAN and Core controllers are defined in various 3GPP technical specifications. However, 3GPP has not defined the same interface for transport slices. The aim of this document is to provide the clarification of this interface and to provide the information model of this interface for automation, monitoring and optimization of the transport slices.


Reza Rokui (reza.rokui@nokia.com)
Shunsuke Homma (homma.shunsuke@lab.ntt.co.jp)
Diego Lopez (diego.r.lopez@telefonica.com)
Xavier de Foy (xavier.defoy@interdigital.com)
Luis Contreras (luismiguel.contrerasmurillo@telefonica.com)
Jose Ordonez-Lucena (joseantonio.ordonezlucena@telefonica.com)
Pedro Martinez-Julia (pedro@nict.go.jp)
Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange.com)
Philip Eardley (philip.eardley@bt.com)
Kiran Makhijani (kiranm@futurewei.com)
Hannu Flinck (hannu.flinck@nokia-bell-labs.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)