Toward a Network Telemetry Framework
draft-song-ntf-02

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2018-07-02
Replaced by draft-song-opsawg-ntf
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-song-opsawg-ntf
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-song-ntf-02.txt

Abstract

This document suggests the necessity of an architectural framework for network telemetry in order to meet the current and future network operation requirements. The defining characteristics of network telemetry shows a clear distinction from the conventional network OAM concept; hence the network telemetry demands new techniques and protocols. This document clarifies the terminologies and classifies the categories and components of a network telemetry framework. The requirements, challenges, existing solutions, and future directions are discussed for each category. The network telemetry framework and the taxonomy help to set a common ground for the collection of related works and put future technique and standard developments into perspective.

Authors

Haoyu Song (haoyu.song@huawei.com)
Tianran Zhou (zhoutianran@huawei.com)
Zhenbin Li (lizhenbin@huawei.com)
Giuseppe Fioccola (giuseppe.fioccola@telecomitalia.it)
Zhenqiang Li (lizhenqiang@chinamobile.com)
Pedro Martinez-Julia (pedro@nict.go.jp)
Laurent Ciavaglia (Laurent.Ciavaglia@nokia.com)
Aijun Wang (wangaj.bri@chinatelecom.cn)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)