MPLS VPN Interworking
draft-sumimoto-mpls-vpn-interworking-00

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Atsushi Iwata  , Muneyoshi Suzuki  , Osamu Tabata  , Junichi Sumimoto  , Yutaka Ezaki  , Masami Doukai 
Last updated 2000-02-08
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-sumimoto-mpls-vpn-interworking-00.txt

Abstract

We call virtual private networks (VPNs) based on Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) 'MPLS VPN'. This document discusses motivation and a model of interworking among MPLS VPNs. It then proposes functional capabilities for the interworking such as realization of security, mapping of the QoS class, dynamic routing information distribution. Considering easy provisioning, we focus on an interworking where each MPLS network is once terminated and IP header look-up is executed at an egress/ingress Label Switching Router (LSR), and IP over ATM (RFC1483) is used for interworking connections.

Authors

Atsushi Iwata (atsushi@cs.ucla.edu)
Muneyoshi Suzuki (suzuki@nal.ecl.net)
Osamu Tabata (tabata@ftd.trd.tmg.nec.co.jp)
Junichi Sumimoto (sumimoto@ntttqn.tnl.ntt.co.jp)
Yutaka Ezaki (ezaki@flab.fujitsu.co.jp)
Masami Doukai (doukai@ss.ts.fujitsu.co.jp)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)