Adding Explicit Passive Measurability of Two-Way Latency to the QUIC Transport Protocol
draft-trammell-quic-spin-03

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2018-11-15 (latest revision 2018-05-14)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-trammell-quic-spin-03.txt

Abstract

This document describes the addition of a "spin bit", intended for explicit measurability of end-to-end RTT, to the QUIC transport protocol. It proposes a detailed mechanism for the spin bit, as well as an additional mechanism, called the valid edge counter, to increase the fidelity of the latency signal in less than ideal network conditions. It describes how to use the latency spin signal to measure end-to-end latency, discusses corner cases and their workarounds in the measurement, describes experimental evaluation of the mechanism done to date, and examines the utility and privacy implications of the spin bit.

Authors

Brian Trammell (ietf@trammell.ch)
Piet Vaere (piet@devae.re)
Roni Even (roni.even@huawei.com)
Giuseppe Fioccola (giuseppe.fioccola@telecomitalia.it)
Thomas Fossati (thomas.fossati@nokia.com)
Marcus Ihlar (marcus.ihlar@ericsson.com)
Al Morton (acmorton@att.com)
Stephan Emile (emile.stephan@orange.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)