DevOps for Software-Defined Telecom Infrastructures
draft-unify-nfvrg-devops-06

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-01-09 (latest revision 2016-07-08)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-unify-nfvrg-devops-06.txt

Abstract

Carrier-grade network management was optimized for environments built with monolithic physical nodes and involves significant deployment, integration and maintenance efforts from network service providers. The introduction of virtualization technologies, from the physical layer all the way up to the application layer, however, invalidates several well-established assumptions in this domain. This draft opens the discussion in NFVRG about challenges related to transforming the telecom network infrastructure into an agile, model-driven environment for communication services. We take inspiration from data center DevOps on the simplification and automation of management processes for a telecom service provider software-defined infrastructure (SDI). A number of challenges associated with operationalizing DevOps principles at scale in software-defined telecom networks are identified in relation to three areas related to key programmable management processes.

Authors

Catalin Meirosu (catalin.meirosu@ericsson.com)
Antonio Manzalini (antonio.manzalini@telecomitalia.it)
Rebecca Steinert (rebste@sics.se)
Guido Marchetto (guido.marchetto@polito.it)
Kostas Pentikousis (k.pentikousis@travelping.com)
Steven Wright (sw3588@att.com)
Pierre Lynch (plynch@ixiacom.com)
Wolfgang John (wolfgang.john@ericsson.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)