Architecture for Control and User Plane Separation on BNG
draft-wadhwa-rtgwg-bng-cups-03

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2019-09-12 (latest revision 2019-03-11)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-wadhwa-rtgwg-bng-cups-03.txt

Abstract

This document discusses separation of subscriber-management control plane and data-plane for BNG. Traditionally, the BNG provides aggregation of fixed access nodes (such as DSLAM and OLTs) over Ethernet and provides subscriber management and traffic management functions for residential subscribers. The BNG has however evolved to become a multi-access edge device that also provides termination of subscribers over fixed-wireless and hybrid access. Therefore, this document proposes interfaces between control and user-plane of a BNG that can support multi-access BNG.

Authors

Sanjay Wadhwa (sanjay.wadhwa@nokia.com)
Rajesh Shinde (rajesh.a.shinde@ril.com)
Jonathan Newton (jonathan.newton@vodafone.com)
Ryan Hoffman (ryan.hoffman@telus.com)
Praveen Muley (praveen.muley@nokia.com)
Subrat Pani (spani@juniper.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)