Applicability of MPLS-TP Linear Protection for Ring Topologies
draft-weingarten-mpls-tp-ring-protection-06

 
Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2012-02-08 (latest revision 2011-09-05)
Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-tp-ring-protection
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream WG state Call For Adoption By WG Issued
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-tp-ring-protection
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-weingarten-mpls-tp-ring-protection-06.txt

Abstract

This document presents an applicability statement to address the requirements for protection of ring topologies for Multi-Protocol Label Switching Transport Profile (MPLS-TP) Label Switched Paths (LSP) on multiple layers. The MPLS-TP Requirements document specifies specific criteria for justification of dedicated protection mechanism for particular topologies, including optimizing the number of OAM entities needed, minimizing the number of labels for protection paths, minimizing the number of recovery elements in the network, and minimizing the number of control and management transactions necessary. The document proposes a methodology for ring protection based on existing MPLS-TP survivability mechanisms, specifically those defined in MPLS-TP Linear Protection, without the need for specification of new constructs or protocols. This document is a product of a joint Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) / International Telecommunications Union Telecommunications Standardization Sector (ITU-T) effort to include an MPLS Transport Profile within the IETF MPLS and PWE3 architectures to support the capabilities and functionalities of a packet transport network as defined by the ITU-T.

Authors

Wu Bo (wu.bo@zte.com.cn)
Daniele Ceccarelli (daniele.ceccarelli@ericsson.com)
Yaacov Weingarten (yaacov.weingarten@nsn.com)
Francesco Fondelli (francesco.fondelli@ericsson.com)
Diego Caviglia (diego.caviglia@ericsson.com)
Marco Corsi (marco.corsi@altran.it)
Stewart Bryant (stbryant@cisco.com)
Nurit Sprecher (nurit.sprecher@nsn.com)
Xuehui Dai (dai.xuehui@zte.com.cn)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)