Design Considerations for Applying ICN to IoT
draft-zhang-icnrg-icniot-01

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-12-28 (latest revision 2017-06-26)
Replaced by draft-irtf-icnrg-icniot
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-irtf-icnrg-icniot
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-zhang-icnrg-icniot-01.txt

Abstract

The Internet of Things (IoT) promises to connect billions of objects to the Internet. After deploying many stand-alone IoT systems in different domains, the current trend is to develop a common, "thin waist" of protocols over a horizontal unified, defragmented IoT architecture. Such an architecture will make objects accessible to applications across organizations and domains. Towards this goal, quite a few proposals have been made to build an application-layer based unified IoT platform on top of today's host-centric Internet. However, there is a fundamental mismatch between the host-centric nature of todays Internet and mostly information-centric nature of the IoT system. To address this mismatch, an information-centric network (ICN) architecture can provide a common set of protocols and services, called 'ICN-IoT', which can be used to build IoT platforms. ICN-IoT leverages the salient features of ICN, and thus provides naming, security, mobility support,scalability, and efficient content and service delivery. This draft summarizes general IoT demands, and covers the challenges and design considerations ICN faces to realize a ICN-IoT framework based on ICN architecture.

Authors

Yanyong Zhang (yyzhang@winlab.rutgers.edu)
Dipankar Raychadhuri (ray@winlab.rutgers.edu)
Luigi Grieco (alfredo.grieco@poliba.it)
Emmanuel Baccelli (Emmanuel.Baccelli@inria.fr)
Jeff Burke (jburke@ucla.edu)
Ravi Ravindran (ravi.ravindran@huawei.com)
Guoqiang Wang (gq.wang@huawei.com)
Anders Lindgren (anders.lindgren@ri.se)
Bengt Ahlgren (bengt.ahlgren@ri.se)
Olov Schelen (lov.schelen@ltu.se)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)