Network Working Group O. Kolkman
Internet-Draft NLnet Labs
Intended status: Best Current Practice R. Housley
Expires: January 27, 2012 Virgil Security, LLC
July 26, 2011

Ex officio membership to the IASA


This memo modifies the IAOC's membership in such a way that it allows for a reduction of the I* chairs workload without reducing their ability gain and provide an intergrated perspective on the IAOC activities.

Status of this Memo

This Internet-Draft is submitted in full conformance with the provisions of BCP 78 and BCP 79.

Internet-Drafts are working documents of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). Note that other groups may also distribute working documents as Internet-Drafts. The list of current Internet- Drafts is at

Internet-Drafts are draft documents valid for a maximum of six months and may be updated, replaced, or obsoleted by other documents at any time. It is inappropriate to use Internet-Drafts as reference material or to cite them other than as "work in progress."

This Internet-Draft will expire on January 27, 2012.

Copyright Notice

Copyright (c) 2011 IETF Trust and the persons identified as the document authors. All rights reserved.

This document is subject to BCP 78 and the IETF Trust's Legal Provisions Relating to IETF Documents ( in effect on the date of publication of this document. Please review these documents carefully, as they describe your rights and restrictions with respect to this document. Code Components extracted from this document must include Simplified BSD License text as described in Section 4.e of the Trust Legal Provisions and are provided without warranty as described in the Simplified BSD License.

1. Introduction

BCP101 [RFC4071][RFC4371] appoints the IETF chair, the IAB chair, and the ISOC President/CEO, collectively refered to as I*-chairs, as ex officio voting members to the IAOC and the IETF Trust. Access to IAOC meetings and notes by these ex-officio members is important because first hand information about the trade-offs made in the IAOC will inform the I-Chairs activities, besides the I-Chairs can provide an integrated perspective about their bodies work to the IAOC.

On the other hand, a lot of the IAOC work is 'business as usual' and presence of I-Chairs is not always required if it were not for the reasonable due dilligence requirements that come with being a voting member.

Therefore, introduction of flexibility in the appointment model allows the burden on these leadership position to be reduced which makes those leadership positions more attractive for potential candidates.

This memo describes the changes in the membership of the IAOC to achieve this while maintaining the ability for the I*-chairs to provide their (broad) persective to the IAOC activities. The I*-chairs lose their voting rights, but maintain the possibility to influence decisions through direct participation in all IAOC and Trust activities.

This document updates BCP101 ([RFC4071] and [RFC4371]).

2. IAOC and Trust Membership modification

2.1. Summary of Changes

The IETF chair, the IAB chair, and the ISOC President/CEO will per default be non-voting ex-officio members of the the IAOC. They are not members of the Trust. They are explicity invited to all of the IAOC and Trust activities, including executive sessions, and have the right to advice, solicited or not.

The ISOC board of Trustees, the IAB, and the IAOC will appoint two voting members instead of one. The appointment term remains 2 years, the appointment cycle changes to a year.

The I*-members are eligible for appointment by their respective bodies in which case they serve at the same terms as the appointed members.

2.2. IAOC membership

With these changes implemented the IAOC consists of eight voting members who shall be selected as follows:

  • Two members appointed by the IETF Nominations Committee (NomCom);
  • Two member appointed by the IESG;
  • Two member appointed by the IAB; and
  • Two member appointed by the ISOC Board of Trustees;

Non-voting, ex-officio members of the IAOC are

  • The IETF Chair;
  • The IAB Chair;
  • The ISOC President/CEO; and
  • The IETF Administrative Director

2.3. IAOC membership

With these changes implemented the IETF Trust Consists of:

  • The IAOC appointees; and
  • The IETF Administrative director

The IETF Chair, the IAB Chair, and ISOC President/CEO are permanent advisors to the Trust.

3. Security Considerations

There are no security considerations.

4. IANA Considerations


There are no IANA considerations.

5. Acknowledgements

Dave Crocker suggested the ex-officion member-ship in combination with the appointment of additional members.

Earlier variations of this modification of BCP101 were proposed by John Klensin, who acknowledged Spencer Dawkins and Joel Halpern for their suggestions.

6. References

6.1. Normative References

[RFC4071] Austein, R. and B. Wijnen, "Structure of the IETF Administrative Support Activity (IASA)", BCP 101, RFC 4071, April 2005.
[RFC4371] Carpenter, B. and L. Lynch, "BCP 101 Update for IPR Trust", BCP 101, RFC 4371, January 2006.

6.2. Informative References

Appendix A. Document info

[This section is to be removed at publication]

$Id: draft-ietf-iasa-chair-membership.xml 10 2011-07-24 17:16:59Z olaf $

Appendix A.1. Changes between version 0 and 1

changed from delegation model to ex-officio non-voting, with extra members in place.

Authors' Addresses

Olaf M. Kolkman NLnet Labs EMail:
Russel Housley Virgil Security, LLC EMail:

Table of Contents