Skip to main content

Minutes interim-2013-iesg-14 2013-07-18 15:30

Meeting Minutes Internet Engineering Steering Group (iesg) IETF
Date and time 2013-07-18 15:30
Title Minutes interim-2013-iesg-14 2013-07-18 15:30
State (None)
Other versions plain text
Last updated 2024-02-23

Minutes of the July 18, 2013 IESG Teleconference

Reported by: Amy Vezza, IETF Secretariat

Jari Arkko (Ericsson) / IETF Chair, General Area
Richard Barnes (BBN) / Real-time Applications and Infrastructure Area
Stewart Bryant (Cisco) / Routing Area 
Gonzalo Camarillo (Ericsson) / Real-time Applications and Infrastructure 
Benoit Claise (Cisco) / Operations and Management Area
Michelle Cotton (ICANN) / IANA Liaison 
Spencer Dawkins (Huawei) / Transport Area
Brian Haberman (Johns Hopkins University) / Internet Area 
Joel Halpern (Ericsson) / IAB Liaison 
Adrian Farrel (Juniper Networks) / Routing Area 
Stephen Farrell (Trinity College Dublin) / Security Area 
Sandy Ginoza (AMS) / RFC Editor Liaison 
Russ Housley (Vigil Security, LLC) / IAB Chair
Joel Jaeggli (Zynga) / Operations and Management Area
Barry Leiba (Huawei) / Applications Area 
Ted Lemon (Nominum) / Internet Area
John Leslie / Scribe 
Cindy Morgan (AMS) / IETF Secretariat 
Pete Resnick (Qualcomm) / Applications Area 
Martin Stiemerling (NEC) / Transport Area
Amy Vezza (AMS) / IETF Secretariat

Heather Flanagan / RFC Series Editor
Susan Hares / Scribe 
Ray Pelletier (ISOC) / IAD
Carlos Pignataro (Cisco) / Scribe
Sean Turner (IECA, Inc.) / Security Area 

1. Administrivia 
1.1 Approval of the Minutes

The minutes of the July 11, 2013 Teleconference were approved. The 
Secretariat will place the minutes in the public archives.

The narrative minutes for the July 11, 2013 Teleconference were not

1.2 Documents Approved since the July 11, 2013 IESG Teleconference 
1.2.1 Protocol Actions
 o draft-ietf-avtcore-6222bis-06  (Proposed Standard)
 o draft-ietf-mmusic-sdp-miscellaneous-caps-07  (Proposed Standard)

1.2.2 Document Actions
 o draft-ietf-6renum-gap-analysis-08  (Informational)

1.3 Review of Action Items

 o Pete Resnick to draft an IESG statement on the preservation of IETF 
   mail archives.

 o Jari Arkko to set up a mailing list and description for the Area 
   directorate review experiment.


2. Protocol Actions
2.1 WG Submissions
2.1.1 New Items
 o draft-ietf-payload-vp8-09  - IETF stream
   RTP Payload Format for VP8 Video (Proposed Standard) - 1 of 4
   Token: Richard Barnes

The document will be returned to the Working Group and moved into state 
"AD is watching."

 o draft-ietf-abfab-eapapplicability-05  - IETF stream
   Update to the EAP Applicability Statement for ABFAB (Proposed
   Standard) - 2 of 4
   Token: Stephen Farrell

The document remains under discussion by the IESG in order to resolve
points raised by Barry Leiba.*

 o draft-ietf-xrblock-rtcp-xr-discard-rle-metrics-06  - IETF stream
   RTP Control Protocol (RTCP) Extended Reports (XR) for Run Length
   Encoding (RLE) of Discarded Packets (Proposed Standard) - 3 of 4
   Token: Gonzalo Camarillo

The document remains under discussion by the IESG in order to resolve
points raised by Benoit Claise and Spencer Dawkins.*

 o draft-ietf-jcardcal-jcard-05  - IETF stream
   jCard: The JSON format for vCard (Proposed Standard) - 4 of 4
   Token: Pete Resnick

The document remains under discussion by the IESG in order to resolve
points raised by Stephen Farrell and Barry Leiba.*

2.1.2 Returning Items

2.2 Individual Submissions
2.2.1 New Items

2.2.2 Returning Items

2.3 Status Changes
2.3.1 New Items

2.3.2 Returning Items

3. Document Actions
3.1 WG Submissions
3.1.1 New Items

 o draft-ietf-multimob-pmipv6-ropt-07  - IETF stream
   Multicast Mobility Routing Optimizations for Proxy Mobile IPv6
   (Experimental) - 1 of 2
   Token: Brian Haberman

The document was deferred to the next teleconference (tentatively 
scheduled for August 15, 2013) by Adrian Farrel.

 o draft-ietf-dhc-dhcpv6-failover-requirements-06  - IETF stream
   DHCPv6 Failover Requirements (Informational) - 2 of 2
   Token: Ted Lemon

The document remains under discussion by the IESG in order to resolve
points raised by Stephen Farrell.*

3.1.2 Returning Items

3.2 Individual Submissions Via AD
3.2.1 New Items

3.2.2 Returning Items

3.3 Status Changes
3.3.1 New Items

3.3.2 Returning Items

3.4 IRTF and Independent Submission Stream Documents
3.4.1 New Items

3.4.2 Returning Items

4. Working Group Actions
4.1 WG Creation
4.1.1 Proposed for IETF Review

4.1.2 Proposed for Approval

4.2 WG Rechartering
4.2.1 Under Evaluation for IETF Review
 o Transparent Interconnection of Lots of Links (trill)
   Area: INT (Ted Lemon)

The IESG decided to proceed with IETF review of the revised charter. 
The Secretariat will send a WG Review: Recharter announcement, with a 
separate message to The Secretariat will place the 
working group on the agenda for the next IESG teleconference.

4.2.2 Proposed for Approval

5. IAB News We Can Use

6. Management Issues
  6.1 IESG Description for NomCom (Jari Arkko)

The management issue was discussed. The IESG agreed on the process for 
approving the IESG descriptions for the NomCom. The IESG will send the 
approved descriptions to the  IETF Executive Director to forward to the 
NomCom Chair  by Monday, July 22, 2013.

  6.2 Approval of experts for samrg-baseline IANA registries (Brian 

The management issue was discussed.  The IESG approved Marc Petit-
Huguenin ( as the primary expert and Thomas Schmidt 
( and John Buford ( 
as secondary experts for the samrg-baseline IANA registries.

  6.3 Replaced-by and IPR (Stephen Farrell)

The management issue was discussed.  Stephen Farrell will send the 
edited draft text to the IESG to confirm and then forward to the Tools Team.

7. Working Group News

* Please see the Datatracker ( 
for details on documents that are under discussion by the IESG.