Skip to main content

Minutes interim-2023-iab-11: Sun 00:30

Meeting Minutes Internet Architecture Board (iab) IETF
Date and time 2023-03-26 00:30
Title Minutes interim-2023-iab-11: Sun 00:30
State Active
Other versions plain text
Last updated 2023-04-19

Minutes of the 2023-03-26 IAB Business Meeting, Yokohama, Japan

1. Administrivia 

1.1. Attendance 


  Jari Arkko
  Deborah Brungard 
  Dhruv Dhody 
  Lars Eggert (IETF Chair)
  Wes Hardaker 
  Cullen Jennings
  Mallory Knodel 
  Suresh Krishnan 
  Mirja Kühlewind (IAB Chair)
  Zhenbin Li 
  Cindy Morgan (IAB Executive Administrative Manager)
  Karen O'Donoghue (ISOC Liaison)
  Tommy Pauly 
  Colin Perkins (IRTF Chair)
  Alvaro Retana 
  David Schinazi
  Christopher Wood 
  Qin Wu 
  Jiankang Yao (remote)


  Warren Kumari (IESG Liaison)
  Russ White 

2. Executive Session: IAB Chair Selection

  The IAB selected Mirja Kühlewind as the IAB Chair for 2023-2024.

3. IAB Lore for New Members

  Cindy Morgan presented "IAB Lore for New Members." The slides are 
  available at Topics included:

    • IAB Mailing Lists
    • IAB Agendas 
    • IAB Teleconferences
    • IAB Decisions
    • IAB Technical Programs and Administrative Support Groups
    • IAB Documents
    • IAB Role in Evaluating New Work
    • IAB Appointments and Confirmations
    • IAB Statements
    • IAB Workshops
    • IAB Breakout Room

4. Identify IAB Leads, Liaisons, etc.

  The IAB decided on the following IAB positions for 2023-2024:

    • Evolvability, Deployability, & Maintainability (EDM) 
      IAB Leads: Tommy Pauly, David Schinazi

    • IAB-ISOC Policy Coordination Group
      IAB Lead: Alvaro Retana
      IAB Members: Dhruv Dhody, Lars Eggert, Mallory Knodel, Mirja 
      Note: Deborah Brungard will continue as a community member.

    • IETF-IANA Administrative Support Group
      IAB Members: Lars Eggert, Cullen Jennings, Mirja Kühlewind, 
      Jiankang Yao

    • IETF-IEEE Administrative Support Group
      IAB Lead: Russ Housley (as IETF liaison manager to IEEE-SA)

    • Liaison Coordinators: Wes Hardaker, Suresh Krishnan, Tommy Pauly

    • IAB Liaison to the IESG: Dhruv Dhody

    • IAB Liaison to the 2023-2024 NomCom: Suresh Krishnan

    • IAB Stream Representative (RSAB): Mirja Kühlewind

    • IAB Discussion List Moderators: Mallory Knodel, Jiankang Yao

    • Comms Review Team: Mirja Kühlewind, Colin Perkins

    • ARPA Change Control Approver: Wes Hardaker

    • Tools Team Liaison: Mallory Knodel

    • Education, Mentoring and Outreach Directorate (EMODir) Liaison: 
      Chris Wood

5. Friday Retreat Decision

  The IAB agreed to contract with a hotel in Seattle for the Friday 
  retreat venue. Cindy Morgan will ask Laura Nugent to proceed with the