Skip to main content

Minutes interim-2023-iesg-16 2023-07-13 14:00

Meeting Minutes Internet Engineering Steering Group (iesg) IETF
Date and time 2023-07-13 14:00
Title Minutes interim-2023-iesg-16 2023-07-13 14:00
State (None)
Other versions plain text
Last updated 2024-02-23

Minutes of the July 13, 2023 IESG Teleconference

Reported by: Jenny Bui, IETF Secretariat

Andrew Alston (Liquid Intelligent Technologies) /  Routing Area
Jenny Bui (AMS) / IETF Secretariat
Roman Danyliw (CERT/SEI) / Security Area
Dhruv Dhody (Huawei) / IAB Liaison
Martin Duke (Google) / Transport Area
Liz Flynn (AMS) / IETF Secretariat, Narrative Scribe
Sandy Ginoza (AMS) / RFC Editor Liaison
Jim Guichard (Futurewei Technologies) / Routing Area
Erik Kline (Aalyria Technologies) / Internet Area
Murray Kucherawy (Meta) / Applications and Real-Time Area
Mirja Kuehlewind (Ericsson) / IAB Chair
Warren Kumari (Google) / Operations and Management Area
Cindy Morgan (AMS) / IETF Secretariat
Zaheduzzaman (Zahed) Sarker (Nokia) / Transport Area
John Scudder (Juniper) / Routing Area
Sabrina Tanamal (ICANN) / IANA Liaison
Amy Vezza (AMS) / IETF Secretariat
Eric Vyncke (Cisco) / Internet Area
Robert Wilton (Cisco Systems) / Operations and Management Area
Paul Wouters (Aiven) /  Security Area

Jay Daley / IETF Executive Director
Lars Eggert (NetApp) / IETF Chair, General Area
Francesca Palombini (Ericsson) / Applications and Real-Time Area

Karen O'Donoghue
Lee-Berkeley Shaw
Greg Wood
Juan Carlos Zuniga

1. Administrivia
1.1 Approval of the Minutes

The minutes of the July 06, 2023 Teleconference require another week for
review. The minutes will come back to the next telechat (August 10, 2023) for

The narrative minutes of the July 06, 2023 Teleconference require
another week for review. The  minutes will come back to the next
telechat (August 10, 2023) for approval.

1.2 Documents Approved since the July 06, 2023 IESG Teleconference
1.2.1 Protocol Actions
o draft-ietf-stir-passport-rcd-26  (Proposed Standard)

1.2.2 Document Actions

1.3 Review of Action Items

o Warren Kumari to find designated experts for RFC 9432 DNS Catalog
  Zones [IANA #1276081].

o Warren Kumari to follow up on a bis document for RFC 8126 regarding
  designated experts.
o Lars Eggert to send email to the LLC about Letters of Invitation for
  Interim Meetings and Retreats
o Lars Eggert and Martin Duke to rewrite IESG statement to give more
  guidance about issuing LOIs for interim meetings.
o One AD from each area to diagram their Area topology and send it to
  Martin Duke for collation.
o Roman Danyliw to open a Datatracker issue suggesting a feature to
  better signal individual contributions.
o Lars Eggert to ask the LLC to come up with a proposal on how we can
  support a pre-configured remote participation option in side meeting
o Lars Eggert to write an update to the Support Documents in IETF
  Working Groups statement.
o Murray Kucherawy to respond to the email "RFC 1952: Any plan for a
  new extra field registry."
o John Scudder to collect AD qualifications for NomCom.
o Rob Wilton to find designated experts for RFC 9390 (Diameter Group
  Signaling) [IANA #1275381].
o Murray Kucherawy to find designated experts for RFC 9122 on IANA
  Registry for Sieve Actions IANA #1275603].
o Roman Danyliw to find designated experts for RFC 9393 on Concise
  Software Identification Tags [IANA #1275658].

o Robert Wilton and Warren Kumari to report back to the IESG on the
  impact of COVID-19 to the IETF in July 2023.


2. Protocol actions
2.1 WG submissions
2.1.1 New items


2.1.2 Returning items

  o draft-ietf-acme-integrations-16  - IETF stream
    ACME Integrations for Device Certificate Enrollment (Proposed
    Token: Roman Danyliw

The document was approved by the IESG pending a final check to be
completed by Roman Danyliw. The Secretariat will send a working group
submission Protocol Action Announcement.

2.2 Individual submissions
2.2.1 New items

2.2.2 Returning items

2.3 Status changes
2.3.1 New items

2.3.2 Returning items

3. Document actions
3.1 WG submissions
3.1.1 New items

  o draft-ietf-ntp-chronos-20  - IETF stream
    A Secure Selection and Filtering Mechanism for the Network Time
    Protocol with Khronos (Informational)
    Token: Erik Kline

The document remains under discussion by the IESG in order to resolve
points raised by Paul Wouters.*

3.1.2 Returning items

3.2 Individual submissions via AD
3.2.1 New items

3.2.2 Returning items

3.3 Status changes
3.3.1 New items

3.3.2 Returning items

3.4 IRTF and Independent Submission stream documents
3.4.1 New items

3.4.2 Returning items

  o conflict-review-urn-ddi-00
    IETF conflict review for draft-urn-ddi
      A Uniform Resource Name (URN) Namespace for the Data
    Documentation Initiative (DDI) (ISE: Informational)
    Token: Roman Danyliw

The IESG has no problem with the RFC Editor publishing this document.
The Secretariat will send a standard "no problem" message to the RFC
Independent Submissions Editor that includes a conflict review response
prepared by Roman Danyliw.

3.4.3 For action

  o conflict-review-irtf-icnrg-icnping-00
    IETF conflict review for draft-irtf-icnrg-icnping
      ICN Ping Protocol Specification (IRTF: Experimental)
    Token: Lars Eggert

The document was assigned to Eric Vyncke for RFC 5742 review.

  o conflict-review-irtf-icnrg-icntraceroute-00
    IETF conflict review for draft-irtf-icnrg-icntraceroute
      ICN Traceroute Protocol Specification (IRTF: Experimental)
    Token: Lars Eggert

The document was assigned to Roman Danyliw for RFC 5742 review.

4. Working Group actions
4.1 WG creation
4.1.1 Proposed for IETF review

4.1.2 Proposed for approval

4.2 WG rechartering
4.2.1 Under evaluation for IETF review

4.2.2 Proposed for approval

5. IAB news we can use

6. Management issues

6.1 Nominations for the IESG Appointed RSWG Co-Chair (Secretariat)

The management issue was discussed. Andrew Alston, Lars Eggert, Warren
Kumari, Zahed Sarker, and John Scudder volunteered to be the
interviewers for RSWG co-chair candidates.

6.2 [IANA #1276081] Designated experts for RFC 9432 DNS Catalog Zones
    (Warren Kumari)

The management issue was discussed. The IESG approved "Ondřej Surý"
<>, Peter Thomassen <>, and Willem Toorop
<> as the designated experts for RFC 9432 DNS
Catalog Zones.

6.3 [IANA #1272932] renewing early allocation for draft-ietf-idr-wide-
    bgp-communities (IANA)

The management issue was discussed. The IESG approved renewing the
early allocations for draft-ietf-idr-wide-bgp-communities.

6.4 Action Item Review: Mailing List Statistics (Rob Wilton and Warren

The IESG agreed to review the mailing list statistics onsite at 117.

6.5 Open Roaming Experiment (Warren Kumari)

The management issue was discussed.

7. Any Other Business (WG News, New Proposals, etc.)
* Please see the Datatracker (
for details on documents that are under discussion by the IESG.