Early Review of draft-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model-10
review-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model-10-rtgdir-early-mcbride-2018-04-16-00

Request Review of draft-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model
Requested rev. no specific revision (document currently at 15)
Type Early Review
Team Routing Area Directorate (rtgdir)
Deadline 2018-04-19
Requested 2017-12-07
Requested by Susan Hares
Authors Lixing Wang, Mach Chen, Amit Dass, Hariharan Ananthakrishnan, Sriganesh Kini, Nitin Bahadur
Draft last updated 2018-04-16
Completed reviews Rtgdir Early review of -05 by John Scudder (diff)
Opsdir Early review of -10 by Sarah Banks (diff)
Rtgdir Early review of -10 by Mike McBride (diff)
Yangdoctors Early review of -09 by Ebben Aries (diff)
Secdir Telechat review of -10 by Derrell Piper (diff)
Genart Telechat review of -10 by Stewart Bryant (diff)
Comments
Please ask John Scudder if he will re-review the document to see if his comments are resolved.  If John Scudder does not have time, please let me know.  I will suggest other people.
Assignment Reviewer Mike McBride
State Completed
Review review-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model-10-rtgdir-early-mcbride-2018-04-16
Reviewed rev. 10 (document currently at 15)
Review result Has Nits
Review completed: 2018-04-16

Review
review-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model-10-rtgdir-early-mcbride-2018-04-16

I have been selected to do a routing directorate “early” review of draft-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model.

Document: draft-ietf-i2rs-rib-data-model-10
Reviewer: Mike McBride
Review Date: 13-04-2018
Intended Status: Standards Track

Comments:

I only found a few nits. Looks like it’s been through several reviews and otherwise looks good to go to me. The nits that I think should be considered:

2.2. Routing Instance and Rib

---Should "Rib" be "RIB"?

2.4. Nexthop
A nexthop represents an object resulting from a route lookup. As illustrated in Section 2.4 of [I-D.ietf-i2rs-rib-info-model], to support various use cases (e.g., load balance, protection, multicast

---Should "load balance" be "load balancing"?

1.1. Definitions and Acronyms

---Should RPC be added? How about FIB? Right now only RIB is defined.

2.5. RPC Operations
route-add: Add a route or a set of routes to a RIB. A RIB name, the route prefix(es), route attributes, route vendor attributes, nexthop and whether return failure detail are passed as the input

---How about "detail" be "details".

parameters. Before calling the route-add rpc, it is required to call the nh-add rpc to create and/or return the nexthop identifier but during situations when the nexthop already exists and the nexthop-id is known, this action is not expected.. The output is a

---This sentence is awkward to me. I would recommend changing it to two sentences as long as it doesn’t alter the intent:

"Before calling the route-add rpc, it is required to call the nh-add rpc to create and/or return the nexthop identifier. However, in situations when the nexthop already exists, and the nexthop-id is known, this call action is not expected."

Sound reasonable?

mike