Last Call Review of draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe-04
review-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe-04-rtgdir-lc-hardwick-2017-03-07-00

Request Review of draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe
Requested rev. no specific revision (document currently at 07)
Type Last Call Review
Team Routing Area Directorate (rtgdir)
Deadline 2017-03-03
Requested 2017-02-22
Requested by Bruno Decraene
Other Reviews Rtgdir Telechat review of -07 by Andrew Malis
Secdir Last Call review of -07 by Russ Mundy
Review State Completed
Reviewer Jonathan Hardwick
Review review-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe-04-rtgdir-lc-hardwick-2017-03-07
Posted at https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/rtg-dir/dIg3bJXILnGRWsR2vuY9mLi21F8
Reviewed rev. 04 (document currently at 07)
Review result Has Nits
Draft last updated 2017-03-07
Review completed: 2017-03-07

Review
review-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe-04-rtgdir-lc-hardwick-2017-03-07

Hello

I have been selected to do a routing directorate “early” review of this draft.
https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe/

The routing directorate will, on request from the working group chair, perform an “early” review of a draft before it is submitted for publication to the IESG.  The early review can be performed at any time during the draft’s lifetime as a working group document.  The purpose of the early review depends on the stage that the document has reached.  As this document is in working group last call, my focus for the review was to determine whether the document is ready to be published.  Please consider my comments along with the other working group last call comments.

For more information about the Routing Directorate, please see ​http://trac.tools.ietf.org/area/rtg/trac/wiki/RtgDir

Best regards
Jon


Document: draft-ietf-spring-segment-routing-central-epe-04.txt
Reviewer: Jonathan Hardwick
Review Date: 7 March 2017
Intended Status: Informational

Summary
Congratulations on a very clear and well-written document.  I have a few minor comments below but otherwise the document looks ready to advance.

Abstract
s/It requires minor/It requires a minor/
Expand acronym SDN on 1st use

Section 1
s/SID's/SIDs/
3rd bullet - why is the reference here?
"The solution is described for IPv4..." - I am obliged to discourage the use of exclusively IPv4 examples in this document.  See https://www.iab.org/2016/11/07/iab-statement-on-ipv6/.
Section 1.1 can be removed - section 13 lists the references.
Section 1.2 bullet 6: s/ingress EPE/ingress PE/
Section 1.2 bullet 6: s/at an source/at a source/

Section 3
I found it a bit strange that you did not list the PeerNode segments contiguously in this section (they are 1012, 1022 and 1052).  But it's not a big deal - I can live with it.
Section 3.6 s/An BGP-EPE enabled/A BGP-EPE enabled/

It's not clear if the FRR behaviour you are specifying in 3.6 is mandatory or just an example.  However, the PeerNode SID and PeerAdj SID have the following backup rule.
"2. Else backup via another PeerNode SID to the same AS."

That's reasonable under some circumstances but it might not agree with the policy of the adjacent AS.  For whatever reason that AS might want to steer traffic to certain IP destinations away from certain links, by not advertising BGP routes over those links, or advertising them with different MEDs.  Is there scope for the EPE controller taking these preferences into account?

Section 4
s/an BGP-EPE controller/a BGP-EPE controller/
Section 4.1: When you say "engineered peers" do you mean "BGP-EPE enabled border routers"?
Section 4.1: "add-path all" sounds like a vendor specific CLI command.  Could you rephrase as "with the router configured to advertise all paths using BGP add-path [RFC7911]"?

Section 4.3: s/described in the section 2 (BGP-LS advertisements)/described in section 2/
Section 4.4 s/an BGP-EPE/a BGP-EPE/

Section 4.6 This section leaves me with a few questions.  What are "business policies"?  How should they be collected, and why?  Do you mean "collected" or "configured"?s

Section 4.7: What is SID 64?  I infer it's the SID for PE C.  It should probably be given in section 3.

Section 5
Section 5.2 "The tunnel and the steering policy could be configured via..." - Do we need a list?  It could also be configured by CLI - does it matter?
Section 5.3 s/them BGP upstream peers/their BGP upstream peers/
Section 5.4 This example confused me as it appears to contradict section 1.2 bullet 1 when applied to Internet traffic.  Or is this example just talking about an inter-AS L3VPN service?
Section 5.5 Unlike the other examples in section 5, the details of the FlowSpec route do not contain the actual IP addresses and SID/Labels in use.

Section 7
I don't think this section is required - I recommend taking it out.
Bullet 2 says that this works with "next hop self" but the example in section 4.1 does not use next hop self and I don't immediately see how it could work if next hop self was enabled on the BGP-EPE border router.
s/avail the/assuming the/