Skip to main content

Ops Directorate (opsdir)

Directorate (with reviews) Name Ops Directorate
Acronym opsdir
Area Operations and Management Area (ops)
State Active
Personnel Area Director Robert Wilton
Secretary Gunter Van de Velde
Reviewers Al Morton
Bo Wu
Carlos M. Martínez
Carlos Pignataro
Dan Romascanu
Dhruv Dhody
Éric Vyncke
Gyan Mishra
Joe Clarke
Joel Jaeggli
Jon Mitchell
Jouni Korhonen
Jürgen Schönwälder
Linda Dunbar
Mahesh Jethanandani
Menachem Dodge
Nagendra Kumar Nainar
Nevil Brownlee
Niclas Comstedt
Qin Wu
Ron Bonica
Sarah Banks
Sheng Jiang
Shwetha Bhandari
Susan Hares
Tianran Zhou
Tim Chown
Tim Wicinski
Tina Tsou (Ting ZOU)
Victor Kuarsingh
Will (Shucheng) LIU
Yingzhen Qu
Mailing list Address

Group description


Operational directorate reviews are solicited primarily to help the area directors improve their efficiency, particularly when preparing for IESG telechats, allowing them to focus on (potentially) troublesome documents and spend less time on the trouble-free ones. The ADs read the reviews, and really appreciate the time and effort that goes into them.

Improving the documents is an important, but clearly not the primary, purpose. An additional goal is to expose the OPS Directorate reviewers' to work going on in other parts of the IETF. Reviews from OPS Directorate members do not, in and of themselves, cause the IESG to block a document, but they are taken very seriously. The reviews may, however, provide advice to the OPS ADs or convince other IESG members to challenge or block a document. The reviews, particularly those conducted in IETF last call and earlier, may also help the document editors improve their documents.