Skip to main content

Liaison statement
Response to ITU-T SG15 liaison 1606

State Posted
Submitted Date 2019-06-17
From Group mpls
From Contact Loa Andersson
To Group ITU-T-SG-15
To Contacts Hiroshi Ota <hiroshi.ota@itu.int>
Cc John Drake <jdrake@juniper.net>
Deborah Brungard <db3546@att.com>
Multiprotocol Label Switching Discussion List <mpls@ietf.org>
Scott Mansfield <Scott.Mansfield@Ericsson.com>
Martin Vigoureux <martin.vigoureux@nokia.com>
Alvaro Retana <aretana.ietf@gmail.com>
Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
Tarek Saad <tsaad.net@gmail.com>
itu-t-liaison@iab.org
Nicolai Leymann <n.leymann@telekom.de>
Response Contact Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
Nicolai Leymann <n.leymann@telekom.de>
Tarek Saad <tsaad.net@gmail.com>
Technical Contact loa@pi.nu
Purpose In response
Attachments (None)
Liaisons referred by this one Request for clarification concerning MPLS-TP shared ring protection
Body
Hiroshi Otha, SG15

Thank you for your liaison of 2018-11-06 on "Request for clarification
concerning MPLS-TP shared ring protection".

The MPLS working group has discussed the liaison on the mailing list and
reached consensus that the protocol defined in RFC 8227 (RPS) is not supposed
to support 2-node rings.

If there is a need to extend the protocol to work for two-node rings that, work
should be brought to the IETF MPLS working group in the form of an Internet
Draft.

/Loa
MPLS wg co-chair